Obituaries


Eunice Deloise Meredith (Sadler)

May 7, 2017

Mrs. Eunice Deloise Meredith, age 91, passed away Thursday, May 4, 2017, at Memorial Manor in Bainbridge, Georgia. Services will be held at 2:00 p.m., Sunday, May 7, at the Cadwell Chapel of Cox Funeral Home. Rev. Steve Poppell and Rev. Steve Broo...

John Leslie (Big John) Staples

May 6, 2017

John Staples, age 61, formerly of Bainbridge, Georgia, passed away Thursday, April 27, 2017, in Franklin, North Carolina. Services for Mr. Staples will be held Saturday, May 6, 2:00 p.m., at the First Church of the Nazarene. The Rev. David Grubbs w...

Peggie Ann Woodward (Jeter)

April 23, 2017

Mrs. Peggie Ann Jeter Woodward, age 81, passed away Thursday, April 20, 2017, in North Augusta, South Carolina. Service for Mrs. Woodward will be held at 2:00 pm, Sunday, April 23, in the Cadwell Chapel of Cox Funeral Home. The Rev. Ernie Jones wil...

Rodney (Pug) Phillip Sellars

April 22, 2017

Mr. Rodney (Pug) Phillip Sellars, age 71, passed away Tuesday, April 18, 2017, at Memorial Manor II, in Bainbridge, Georgia. Services for Mr. Sellars will be held at 2:00 pm, Saturday, April 22, 2017, at the Cadwell Chapel of Cox Funeral Home. The ...

Lazarus Martin

April 14, 2017

Mr. Lazarus Martin, Sr., age 64, passed away Tuesday, April 11, 2017, at his home in Cairo, Georgia. A graveside service will be held at 4:00 pm, Friday, April 14, 2017, at El Bethel Baptist Church Cemetery in Whigham, Georgia. The Rev. Bob Knight...

Gloria Cook

April 12, 2017

Miss Gloria Cook, age 61, passed away Saturday, April 8, 2017, at Southeast Alabama Medical Center, Dothan, Alabama. Services for Miss Cook will be held 1:00 p.m., Wednesday, April 12, 2017, at Southwest Baptist Church. Rev. Stanley Phillips and R...

William Joey Dean

April 8, 2017

Mr. William Joey Dean, age 52, passed away Friday, March 31, 2017, in Adel, Georgia. A memorial service will be held in his honor at 6:00 p.m., Saturday, April 8, 2017, at the Cadwell Chapel of Cox Funeral Home. Pastor Teddy Williamson will be offi...

Shirley D. Hires (Gainous)

April 22, 2017

Shirley D. Hires, age 69, passed away on March 17, 2017. Shirley was born August 26, 1947 in Thomasville, Georgia, to Glenn Gainous and Dorothy Oliver Gainous. Shirley is survived by her boyfriend of 40 plus years, Terry Schweiss, and her 5 daughte...

Julia Ann Cooper (Peak)

March 18, 2017

Mrs. Julia Ann Peak Cooper, age 73, passed away Thursday, March 16, 2017, at Memorial Hospital, Bainbridge, Georgia. Services for Mrs. Cooper will be held at 3:00 p.m., Saturday, March 18, in the Cadwell Chapel of Cox Funeral Home. Rev. Rawleigh Fu...

Veteran

Freddie Carroll Bryant

March 19, 2017

Mr. Freddie Carroll Bryant, age 66, passed away Wednesday, March 15, 2017, at his home in Cairo, Georgia. Services for Mr. Bryant will be held at 3:00 p.m., Sunday, March 19, at the First Church of the Nazarene in Cairo. Interment will follow in Cr...